Humility vs Humiliation.

Day 4.

When asked the question ‘what is the difference between humility and humiliation’ I got an array of answers. A non-Christian said that he didn’t understand the question. Why would you need to be humble? A christian freaked out at the question and said I have NO IDEA! I even talked to all the ministers (and their wives) about it and they weren’t sure. My beautiful wise little sister was the only one who thought to give an answer; ‘I guess one is a choice.’ AMAZING! Its so true. Simple and brilliant!

I was thinking about it and it makes perfect sense. God called us to be humble before him, realizing that he is greater then anything even thought of on earth.

I would be lying if I said that I did not struggle with the idea of humility. As a girl who wants to be an actor, I have pride. I know that this is wrong, according to the bible. Can you have pride in what you do and still be humble. For example, I know that I am a good actor, but I also know that this talent that I have is not of my own accord. It is a gift from God and he can take it away just as fast as he gave it to me. So what do I do then? Act only in Church so that I will always be acting ‘for God’. How do I excel in something while still understanding where it comes from. There has to be a compromise between full of self satisfied pride and self consciousness. But where is this wonderful line?

I believe its in the center of God’s will. In his love. When you know that you are being taken care of by the creator of the universe, it becomes alot easier to realise where you are. Its all about figuring out your center I guess..

God, I am here. I don’t know who I am or what good I can do for you, but help me stay humble. Give me the wisdom to know the difference. God I know that I can get things wrong but I am trying. Lord, be the light in my life and show me great examples of humility. Its in your sons name that I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

