“You complete me… Or am I complete in God?”

Day 25.

So I have been thinking about why I am doing ‘the Esther Challenge’. I have been making sure that my motivations are pure and for the bettering of myself and not just getting a man. But then I was thinking.. (and by thinking I mean reading the bible and trying to think through it) and what about Eve? I mean in Genesis 2:20 God created Eve for Adam because no suitable helper could be found. So is that what we are, as women? Helpers? Is it possible that we were created because Man was not ‘complete’ and he needed to find ‘his other half’?

I grew up on Disney Princess movies and every story was the same. A girl was going through her life but was missing out on something. Then she found her prince and life was right! Everything ended up happily ever after.

I think these storiescome from somewhere. I mean, every girl longs to be a princess and saved by the handsome prince. And every man wants to be a prince and save the princess and be the hero. Thats why they become firefighters and police and undercover agents! But the whole ‘you complete me’ thing is throwing me for a loop. Jesus says in Matthew 19

11 “Not everyone can accept this word (not to marry), but only those to whom it has been given.12For some are eunuchs because they were born that way; others were made that way by men; and others have renounced marriage[c]because of the kingdom of heaven. The one who can accept this should accept it.”

But who should and who shouldn’t? How do we know? And what if we were created for man. Does that mean that we are not complete unless we are with a man? Almost every woman in the bible was trying to get a man. Esther spent 12 months preparing for  a man. Ruth’s husband dies and she goes and gets another. Looking at the bible, I think that we are supposed to be with a man. At tonights game I was talking to Kelly (the children’s Minister’s wife) and she said that there is a verse in Isaiah that helps.. She’s looking for it. It has something to do with God being our husband and he is the one who completes us.

What if we are not created just for a man? I mean, now a woman can do anything that a man can do. We can even have our own family without a man. So are women who are single doing it right? Is it possible to be alone in this world and still be providing our purpose? Is our purpose to be with a man? Or figure out what we are to do without a man. I know that I have a heart for women. I have always wanted to help abused women, to take them away from the men that hurt them. Does that make me a feminist? Because I want to help women and not men? Or are women supposed to help women.

Clearly I am very confused. I have talked to Candice (a very close friend from school) and she told me to read captivating. I think this is a very good idea. I think I will look up how to find it. I encourage you to do it too.

Dear Lord, please clear my mind. Show me who I am in you. Lord please let me find out if I am incomplete without a man or complete in you. I need help. I love you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

