Kellys Story, my life.

Day 56.

I am so blessed to have a woman in my life who is wise enough to tell me what she thinks, even if I don’t want to hear it. Kelly Borst is the wife of Troy (the Education Minister at Church) and is slowly becoming a most trusted mentor. I don’t know if she knows that. I was at their house on thursday and (although I did not bring up the subject) we started talking about romantic relationships. We were discussing the seemingly inevitable end of marriage between myself and my (PLATONIC) best friend, Brian. Although Brian and I have had the discussion 10000 times, everyone else seems to be getting information from God that we are meant to be. I was trying to convince them (Kelly mostly) that they were wrong and Kelly started to tell me her story. Kelly and Troy met when they were 16 and were just friends. She was even dating another guy (who ended up being a pilot, chimed Troy. Sore spot.. lol) But God was in it. She has a blog and tells her story. I think her story is so beautiful. However.. It is not my story. Dear Brian, I love you.. but not like that. So I watch Kelly and Troy. I love them together and I truly appreciate for taking me under their wings. To fall in love with your best friend does sound like a beautiful think. Like that Jason Mraz song ‘Lucky Im in love with my best friend.’  I mean, people dream about it all the time. And its not that I think that falling in love with your best friend wouldn’t be romantic.. I guess I’ve always wanted like the Mr. Darcy. You know, the guy you just HATE when you first meet him, but you feel more strongly for him then you have about anything else in your life..

I sound silly, and I can hear it even as I write it, but still.

God, I love you for putting all of these silly thoughts of love in my head. If I do end up like Jane Austen and never get married, at least I have seen what true love looks like from watching Kelly and Troy. Father, thank you for giving me them. Lord, I will not stop showing love to other people. You are so great to give us love and I thank you for it. I love you Father, amen.

3 thoughts on “Kellys Story, my life.

  1. Tara Duffy! I love you! I think that if one day you end up loving Brian, he would be a very lucky man. And if you don’t, that’s ok, too. I am just throwing out there that I would not have believed you if you told me that I would date, marry, or love Troy 2 years, or 2 months, or 2 minutes before God told me so.

Leave a Reply

