perfectly IMperfect.

Day 65.

Everyone has those days where they look in the mirror and hate what they see. I mean, we are our biggest critic. I know as women (though I know have to face that some guys read my blog..) it is so easy to figure out whats wrong with ourselves. Then we sit there depressed because there is nothing we can really do about it. My best friend in elementary school Sara told me once that ‘you got uglier the more you looked in the mirror’. When I was younger I thought she meant that mirrors had magical powers that made you uglier. Now as an ‘adult’ I can hear the truth in her words. The longer we look in the mirror, the more defects we see. We look, not trying to see anything beautiful. But for imperfections. Why? God created us just the way we are. The thought that beauty is only skin deep is so true! Psalm 27:30 says “But the wicked will perish: The LORD’s enemies will be like the beauty of the fields, they will vanish—vanish like smoke.” Meaning that beauty vanishes!! Proverbs 31:30 says “Charm is deceptive, beauty is fleeting. But a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.” Beauty does not last forever.  Because I think that music is beautiful, I found a song (by the BarlowGirls) that describes it perfect!

Perfect, no? I love technology. ‘The world’ has tried to convince you that if you buy into their idea of perfection then you will be happy because beautiful people are happy people. But I think that being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect, it means you have decided to look past the imperfections.

God, you are so amazing. You created the entire world and filled it with so much beauty. Nothing that has your mark is wrong. Lord I know that because of sin I am no longer perfect and cannot become perfect, but thankyou for giving me the chance to be perfectly imperfect. I love you father. It is in your sons name I pray, amen.

Leave a Reply

