Verse of the day!

Day Eighty Four!

Philippians 1:21 For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.

The first time I read this verse I immediately thought of Peter Pan who always said that ‘to die would be the greatest aventure’ He was the boy who wanted to stay a boy for his whole life. He would only want to play games and go on adventures. There is something to say about the similarities between that life and our own in Christ. We are wonderfully made for something more then the way we are living. But we long for adventure. I know I do, and I know that boys long to be in a adventure and girls want to be apart of a grand adventure! But to live can be the greatest adventure ever. To live is Christ. What does that even mean? To live is Christ. Well what is Christ? He is loving, caring, beautiful, exciting, perfect, an enigma and hundreds of other things. To live is Christ- to live is to know who God is and enjoy who he is. But to die is gain. What happens when you die? (If you have been baptised and given your life to God) You go to heaven. I remember in my ethics class we were talking about when is the right time to pull the plug and my teacher said that if he was on the table, it could be close to torture to know that you were so close to be with your heavenly father and still be on the table. Its an interesting thought.

Dear Heavenly Father, let me live a full life. You are the creator of all happiness and love, please let me feel it every day I am here.

Leave a Reply

