Who You are is not who you were.

Day 94.

Ah Sundays. The most restful day of the week. Yet today was sad. My little brother left for the marines. I can’t even believe he is gone off and becoming a man. The Church had a ceremony for him and the whole congregation gave him a standing ovation. I am sure that means more to me then it would to the average person. Everyone kept coming up to us telling us how proud they were. It was incredible. I was thinking about the future and what would happen if Michael became someone really important. I was wondering how the church would treat him then.. Would they welcome him back with cheers? Would they feel awkward around him since he did something great? Would they act like nothing ever happened, like he is still the 17 year-old boy that they use to know.

It made me think of Jesus and the time when he went back to his home in Nazareth. Jesus is the Son of God but they (the people he knew when he was younger) couldn’t see past the Jesus they knew. The one who no doubt played games with them and worked with them and learned with them. But when he read from the scroll the people wondered aloud. ‘Isn’t this Joseph’s son? What is he doing.’ But in Luke 4, Jesus is talking to them.

4:23Jesus said to them, “Surely you will quote this proverb to me: ‘Physician, heal yourself! Do here in your hometown what we have heard that you did in Capernaum.’ ”  24“I tell you the truth,” he continued, “no prophet is accepted in his hometown.

28All the people in the synagogue were furious when they heard this. 29They got up, drove him out of the town, and took him to the brow of the hill on which the town was built, in order to throw him down the cliff.

Although I am sure that the Church will not rise up and try to kill Michael, I still wonder. How could they do that to Jesus? Did they not understand who he was? Could they not see past who they thought he was?

God, Please let me see you for who you are. Lord let me use this lesson in my daily life while talking to people. God I see people every day and I know their stories and their horrible pasts, but help me to see beyond all of that. Let me see the people around for who they are now, not who they were. It is in your sons name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

