If you have eyes to see, what are you looking at?

Recently, I have been watching a lot of Korean Soap Operas. And by a lot I mean, I am starting to understand Korean words when spoken at Korean restaurants. And what I am noticing from said soap operas is when one character is talking to another character while trying to get across some important information, they say

“Dangsin-i gwileul gajigo issdamyeon, deul-eo.”

당신이 귀를 가지고 있다면, 들어.

...which means; if you have ears, listen.

Every time I hear that, (which, again, is fairly often) I think of when God says the same thing in the bible.

He says it all the time. In multiple different ways.

  • Mark 8:18 “Having eyes do you not see, and having ears, do you not hear? And do you not remember?”
  • Ezekiel 12:2 “Son of man, you dwell in the midst of a rebellious house, who have eyes to see, but see not, who have ears to hear, but hear not.”
  • Psalm 115:5-8 “They have mouths, but do not speak: eyes, but do not see. They have ears, but do not hear; noses, but do not smell. They have hands, but do not feel; feet, but do not walk; and they do not make a sound in their throat. Those who make them become like them; so do all who trust in them.”
  • John 12:40 “He has blinded their eyes and hardened their heart, lest they see with their eyes and understand with their heart, and turn, and I would heal them. “
  • Jeremiah 5:21 “Hear this, O foolish and senseless people, who have eyes, but see not, who have ears, but hear not.”

so, this morning I was reading in Isaiah 42, and it was as if I had never read the bible before. You know those moments when you’re so hungry that you eat all your food without breathing. One moment you have a plate full of Chicken lo-mein and the next minute you’re staring at an empty plate and a pair of chopsticks. That’s what this morning looked like.


"Hear you deaf, and look you blind, that you may see! Who is blind as 
my servant, or deaf as my messenger whom I send? Who is blind as my 
dedicated one, or blind as the servant of the LORD? He sees many things
but does not observe them; his ears are open but he does not hear.                                                           Isaiah 42:19-20

This is exceptionally incredible to me because it shows that God is talking to his servant. And the servant sees whats going on, but is so distracted that this servant can not possibly understand what they are seeing.

This sounds like me

I wish that I was a fantastic person and I could tell you that I am never distracted and I am always focused on God and hearing his voice. But honestly, I could more easily count the times that God and I are in constant communication then when we are not, because they are much fewer.

God calls out to his ‘dedicated one’. He calls out to you. He calls out to me, and I can either choose to listen to his call or see what he is calling me to and continue in my blind ways. I could open my blind eyes, or keep them focused on worthless things. I could go after God, or go after what I think is important in that moment.

I don’t want to go through life to captivated by what the world seems to offer and become completely blinded to the fulfilling life that God is calling me to. When he calls out to His Devoted one, I want to answer boldly because I have been waiting for his voice, not haphazardly as if I just heard someone calling me in passing. 

I want to be a person who can call out justice because God is calling out justice.

I no longer want to have ears without hearing, or eyes without seeing. God is moving and I need to be a part of that. Otherwise, im just wasting his and my time. And I don’t have time to waste.

Leave a Reply

