The Esther Challenge.

A wonderful woman name Bethany Miller just so happens to be my best friend. Our favorite book is easily the same one, it is the story of Esther. We have decided that we would create ‘The Esther Challenge’ where we would try to go through a year of preparation for whatever God has in store for us. “Before a girl’s turn came to go in to King Xerxes, she had to complete twelve months of beauty treatments prescribed for the women, six months with oil of myrrh and six with perfumes and cosmetics.” Esher. We are trying to make the 21st century (or whatever century we are in now) version of what Esther did. Bethany is creating a journal and I have decided to use this blog so others can do the Challenge with us.

It starts today; May 25th 2010.

I look on this assignment with great joy. Im excited to fully put my life into God’s will and see what he has planned for me. I will also be doing a bible study that (tries) to go along with this. As it my first try, I can’t promise how impacting it will be. I plan on just following the teachings of Jesus and my elders. Here is a tip: Meet the Elders in your church. They have been through ALOT in the name of Jesus and can help you so much.

So here we go. Are you excited?!?

DAY ONE

Today is being comfortable in your own skin. Everyone has those days when they put on that pair of pants that they fit in 3 years ago…but don’t anymore. Its a depressing thought. Today I had this wonderful problem. I looked at it as an adventure. Go through your closet and find those clothes that don’t fit you anymore. Put them in a plastic bag and take them to church. My Church has a homeless ministry and all of my old clothes go to help other people. Then you can get other clothes. Tip: find clothes that fit you. Forget about trying to squeeze into that pair of 10s and just go for a 12. You look beautiful in clothes that are made to fit you.

1 Corinthians 6:19 says “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own..”

God created us to be beautiful for him. He loves us and cares so deeply for us. He would rather die then live an eternity without us. Knowing that is the first step.

2 thoughts on “The Esther Challenge.

  1. Hey lady wanted to read your blog, but can’t get passed day one 😦 There aren’t any links for the rest of the days… I had been reading it randomly but haven’t been able to lately…..

Leave a comment