A girlish hope.

Day 55.

After spending my entire day (after church) watching and reading Jane Austen novels I am thinking about the man in my future. Its silly, I know, but its that romantic in me. I watched a movie last night and said it perfectly. “I am not a hopeless romantic, but a hopeful romantic.” (from Romancing the Stone) So I started with Persuasion. The whole story is about 2 people who fell in love 8 years ago but the woman was convinced that he was not good enough for her and sent him away forever. But he comes back. And they try to persuade themselves of wrong feelings. Both try to convince their own heart that the other no longer loves nor cares for them. In the end they see how much they truly care for each other. He writes her a letter saying that he has loved her all this time and that she is the only reason for him making any move that he did. If she would just give him a look, a word to let him know that he still has some luck at her heart. How perfect. A letter. I don’t think anything could be more romantic. I fantasize about getting a wonderful letter like that. But sadly, guys in movies or novels are seldom like that in real life. So I wait, because I am a woman. And it is wrong for a woman to go after a man..

Courting– the traditional dating period before engagement and marriage. During a courtship, a couple dates to get to know each other and decide if there will be an engagement. Usually courtship is a public affair, done in public and with family approval. Other definitions says ‘a man seeking the affections of a woman, usually with intention of marrying.’ I don’t know what happened to the old times. They are my favorite without a doubt. So I struggle with my heart and head and HOPE in the past, but my body (unfortunately) in the present. Where guys are perverts and girls are skankly trying to win guys attention. Dating is not a bad thing, but how do you get around the ‘bad’ guys? Thats easy. There are 2 options. Well, 3 really. 1)Arranged marriage set up by your father. 2) Not date. Or 3) Just date them all and sift through them. I think alot of girls (esp at school) go for the second option, feeling that God will just drop a man in their laps.. Yeah… keep thinking that ladies.

So my girlish hope? That one day I will have in my possession, a brilliant man whom challenges me and makes me laugh, but always has that slight part of gentleman-ness that is so hard to come by these days. So I sit here, popping in another Jane Austen and sipping coffee with no great plans for men, but plans for greatness! And that is enough..for now.

Dear Lord, thank you so much for this season to see who I am with out a man. Father, I have you and you will always be here. Thank you. Amen.

Leave a comment